/ Views: 54384

How many regions in Russia?

Julia Agafonova
Julia Agafonova
March 24, 2015
How many regions in Russia?

The Russian Federation consists of many districts. Those, in turn, are divided into regions, territories and republics. How many regions in Russia?

The number of regions in Russia

The federal districts of the Russian Federation divide the country into vast territories. Each district has several, in some cases up to two dozen smaller entities (cities of federal significance are not taken into account).

So, in Russia today there are 9 federal districts (in brackets indicate the number of different types of subjects located in a given territory):

  • Far East (9),
  • Crimean (1),How many regions in Russia?
  • Volga (14),
  • Northwest (10),
  • North Caucasus (7),
  • Siberian (12),
  • Ural (6),
  • Central (17),
  • Southern (6).

By simple arithmetic operations, we obtain 82 subjects, of which 46 regions, 22 republics, 9 territories, one autonomous region, and 4 autonomous districts.
In addition, there are three cities of federal significance: Moscow, St. Petersburg and Sevastopol.

The largest region of Russia is the Far Eastern Federal District (6.2 million km²), the smallest is the Crimea (27 thousand km²). The most populated is the Central Federal District (39 million), and the smallest number of the population lives again in the Crimean District (2.3 million).


Related news

How to get rid of the habit of being late
Clay Medallion
Apartment in St. Petersburg
Pumpkin Recipes
Thin Italian Pizza